Written by Elizabeth OFFIONG

Amaechi, Emefiele, others for Blueprint awards

Minister of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi, Governor of the Central Bank, Godwin Emefiele, will be joined by others at the Blueprint Newspapers annual impact series and awards event on Tuesday.

The event expected to be chaired by Samaila Isa Funtua, patron of the Newspapers Proprietors’ Association of Nigeria, NPAN, and a fellow of the International Press Institute, IPI.

The theme of the debut event is: Tolerance, Unity and Security: Building a Legacy for National Development with a lecture to be delivered by Zubairu Jibrin Maigari II, the Emir of Birnin Gwari.

According to the Chairman of Blueprint Newspapers, Mohammed Idris, the choice of the topic is informed by the prevailing circumstances in the country where national unity and cohesion are gradually being eroded.

He added that the effort is the company’s modest contribution to national discourse with the aim of proffering solutions to the myriad of challenges faced by the nation.

Mr. Idris said Blueprint has grown steadily and has remained an authoritative platform for truth and justice in national discourse and celebrating distinguished individuals and corporate organisations that have made remarkable impact in the socio-economic and political development of Nigeria will go a long way to solidify the place of the paper in the Nigerian media space.

Along with the lecture is an award ceremony for some deserving Nigerians in the public and private sector.

The Minister of Transport, Rotimi Amaechi, will get the Most Distinguished Achiever in Transport Infrastructure Award; Central Bank governor, Godwin Emefiele is being honoured with Distinguished Financial Policy Strategist of the Year, while Governor Ibrahim Dankwambo of Gombe state will be honoured as Most Outstanding Governor of the Year.

Yobe State governor, Ibrahim Gaidam, will receive distinguished education champion award while Plateau state governor, Simon Lalong, will be decorated as a distinguished human capital development champion, while the Chief of Army Staff, Tukur Buratai is to be honoured with the Distinguished Security Champion award.

The Commandant-General of the Nigeria Security and Civil Defence Corps (NSCDC), Abdullahi Muhammadu, is to receive the Distinguished Infrastructure Safety award, while the chairman of the National Hajj Commission (NAHCOM), Abdullahi Muktar will receive the Distinguished Public Service Champion Award.

The National President of the National Union of Road Transport Workers, Najeem Yasin, will be honoured as Distinguished Champion of Transport Workers.

Other personalities to be honoured are are Katsina State Governor, Aminu Masari (Distinguished Agriculture and Environment Champion award); the Vice Chancellor of University of Agriculture, Umudike, Professor Francis Otunta (Award of Excellence in Education); and Senator Shehu Sani (Distinguished Public Advocacy Champion).

Former Governor of Kogi State, Idris Wada will be honoured with a Distinguished Award in Patriotism.


Latest posts

PhotoKiller beans: SON to sensitise Nigerians on preservation codes

Following the shocking discovery of the use of pesticide for the preservation of beans by some vendors in parts of the country, the Standards Organ [...]

14 November 2018

PhotoWe are overwhelmed by rape, incest cases – FCTA Family members, clergy top abuse list

Officials of the Federal Capital Territory Administration Social Development Secretariat have revealed startling details of rape and incest against [...]

11 November 2018